Museum of the History of Medicine
Since 1971 the headquarters of Paris Descartes University have been located in the former premises of the Medical School founded in 1803 and situated in the buildings of the Academy of Surgery.
The Museum of the History of Medicine is housed on the second floor of the building, in a room built in 1905.
Its collections, the oldest in Europe, were put together by the dean Lafaye in the 18th century, then a considerable collection of pieces covering the different branches of operating art until the end of the 19th century was added. One can also discover several rare medical and surgical bags as well as physiology tools.